World leading motorsport home entertainment
FREE Worldwide DVD and Blu-ray Delivery

Cricket - The Ashes Stamps Miniature Sheet CTO

Only 3 left in stock! Dispatched same working day before 12pm.
Product Code: NG75 , Release Date: 29 June 2009
  • Stamps
Our Price 
Add to basket
Our guaranteeIf you are not 100% satisfied we will replace or refund within 30 days of purchase.
Earn 31 Duke Club Points when you buy this product.
Plus, 100 FREE points when you join! Sign up now or on the receipt page
  • Issue date 29th June 2009
  • Three stamps in the series - WG Grace, The MCC and The MCC Ashes Trophy and Urn
  • Featuring the artwork of Karen Neale and Christina Pierce
  • Released to celebrate the 2009 Ashes series

Cricket - The Ashes Stamps Miniature Sheet CTO - Description

To celebrate the 2009 Ashes series, the Isle of Man Post Office issued this CTO* stamp set.

There are three stamps in the collection, released on 29th June 2009:

W G Grace - The legendary Dr William Gilbert Grace (1848 - 1915) was the outstanding English all-round amateur cricketer of his day - who captained England and Gloucestershire.

The MCC - MCC was founded in 1787 at a time when cricket was considered a sport for the elite.  Lord's cricket ground, the home of The MCC is depicted on the third stamp in a vibrant painting by Karen Neale.

The MCC Ashes Trophy and Urn -Both the Waterford crystal trophy and the world famous Ashes urn are shown on the second stamp - the terms 'Ashes' was first used after England lost to Australia for the first time on home soil at The Oval in August 1882.

* CTO = Cancelled To Order, Mint condition cancelled Stamps